Skip to content

Sprinkles Ice Cream

October 1, 2012

As an ardent fan of Sprinkles Cupcakes I anxiously awaited the opening of the Sprinkles Ice Cream shop just next door to the Cupcake shop on South Santa Monica Blvd in Beverly Hills. My rational brain got the better of me though as it dissuaded me from driving the hour up there on opening day. I wanted to try it so much, but just couldn’t bring myself to wait in line for who knows how many hours!! I did end up going during the first week of opening though and got really lucky with “rock star parking” and only a 20 minute wait. By the time I got to the front of the line there were probably 40 people in line behind me! The ice cream angels were looking out for me that day.

So let me just start with telling you that I drove back up there 3 days later because I was craving it so much – that’s how good it is! And I’ve been back a 3rd time as well even though its 60 minutes away through nasty traffic. I asked my local Newport Beach Sprinkles when they are going to stock the ice cream and the response was that they want to build one soon. Soon?? That could be at least 12 months away if not longer!

Anyways, the picture shown here is the Red Velvet ice cream sandwiched between two red velvet cupcake tops. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! The ice cream is slow churned locally with organic milk and then whole red velvet cupcakes (frosting and all!) are mixed into the ice cream. Let me tell you that frozen cream cheese frosting is taking dessert to a whole new level. The flavor and texture of this ice cream is out of this world. And then to put a scoop of it between two (un-frosted) red velvet cupcake tops takes it to a place only the hubble telescope can see. Truly incredible.

I’ve also tried the red velvet ice cream in a red velvet waffle cone that was light and crispy and oh so good.

And I’ve tried the red velvet ice cream sundae which is a normal red velvet cupcake (frosting and all) cut in half with a scoop of red velvet ice cream in between the top and bottom. I’m salivating just remembering it!

I’ve also tried the strawberry gelato sundae with a strawberry cupcake (divine!)

And I’ve tried the chocolate gelato (super rich!) in a red velvet waffle cone

I know it sounds like I’ve been there more than 3 times but it helps to take a friend and share…

There are a dozen different ice cream and gelato flavors and I’d love to try them all! And the combination available for sundaes and sandwiches climbs into numbers too high for me to count.

The good (and bad) news is that Sprinkles ice cream is available for delivery anywhere in the nation. But at $10 a pint (up to 6 pints per box so who would order anything less than 6 pints?!) plus $45 overnight shipping it just seems a little too ridiculous for even me to splurge on. But I admit that I have added it to my “cart” on more than one occasion before the rational side of my brain got the better of me again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

